Andover parkrun (68)

Today was quite simply not an enjoyable morning, one where I wish I was still curled up in bed rather than in the middle of a field. This feeling doesn’t happen very often and I must say right from the start that it has absolutely nothing to do with the parkrun, just that it was cold. And I mean cold. It is probably one of the few times that I have run whilst wrapped up wearing a jacket as I normally just run in a t-shirt and by the time I get into it and get the blood pumping I don’t feel it the cold, but today was something else. If it wasn’t for the fact that I had to be out of the house anyway this morning I don’t think I would have bothered, would probably have peeled back the curtains and decided not to bother. I was only running to break up the journey on the way down to pick up my Grandma from the Isle of Wight for my brother’s wedding next week.

The weather did nothing to dampen the spirits of the locals though as today seemed to be some kind of celebration as many runners were running in fancy dress in pyjamas and nightwear. I am sure that they did make announcements at the start as to what it was all about, but sadly with my last-minute dash to the car just before the start to see if I had any gloves or anything to help take the edge off, I missed it, which is a real shame as I do always try make sure I am there for the briefings, etc wherever I go. I at least still managed to catch the New Runners Briefing before I jogged off though.

Having said all that, I am glad I did it. At the very least it is another one down and one step closer to my next goal of getting to 100 runs. Not only that but it was also an ‘A’ parkrun which counted towards my Alphabet Challenge as I had not run an ‘A’ before. Every cloud has a silver lining and all that. Onwards to the next one!

COURSE DETAILS:

Andover parkrun (68)

COURSE DESCRIPTION TO BE ADDED

RUN DETAILS:

  • Time: 28:29
  • Place: 104/260
  • Gender Place: 90
  • Age Category Place (SM30-34): 6
  • Age Graded Score: 45.64%
  • Most Events Global Position: 530

LINKS:

Leave a comment