Poolsbrook parkrun (65)

Today is an odd report, I was originally expecting to be writing a volunteer report for a VI Guide however due to the fact that the regular VI runner did not turn up to run parkrun this morning I was faced with the dilemma of volunteering as another role, running the event myself, or going back home and trying again another time. One of those options was off the table as there was a completely full and brimming volunteer roster this morning so there was no other volunteer roles available, which left me with a choice of running or going home then. Thankfully, despite Poolsbrook being my local event, I had not run here before so I had the rare opportunity to be able to run and pick up another course. I was trying to keep this event spare for a time at which I could run a good time in good weather but at least I still had that option this morning.

Obviously with the fact that I was not prepared to run at full pace at the start of the morning I was in no way prepared and was never going to be setting a great time. Still, I managed a decent time considering the fact that I was not remotely in peak condition and have not managed a run in the last few weeks.

Hopefully I will get my chance to come back and fulfill the volunteer role of VI Guide in the near future to be able to write that up, it is probably the one role that has piqued my interest the most in all my time parkrunning and is probably the one that most people know the least about.

COURSE DETAILS:

Poolsbrook parkrun (65)

The course at Poolsbrook is very simple and in true UK-style is a multi-lap event. The surface is semi-loose gravel throughout and has negligible elevation difference so has all of the makings of a fast course. Before the run stats, you gather with all the other runners by the cafe near the car park and then walk en-masse just prior to 9am to reach the start-line, which is approx 300m back at the top end of the lake.

From the start you run back along the path and past the cafe on your right, keeping the lake to your left and follow the path all the way around. Upon reaching the bottom side of the lake you leave the path and turn left over a small bridge (which I can imagine would get a little slippy in the winter months) before joining back with the path on the other side. You then carry on as you were and head back towards the Start Line, again keeping the lake on your left, with only a short jaunt outside the park onto the pavement on one of the corners.

This is then repeated until you have completed 3 full laps of the lake upon which time you cross the Start Line for one last time and run back towards the Finish Line in front of the cafe.

RUN DETAILS:

  • Time: 26:50
  • Place: 68/166
  • Gender Place: 60
  • Age Category Place (SM30-34): 12
  • Age Graded Score: 48.32%
  • Most Events Global Position: 467

LINKS:

Leave a comment